Life finds a way

Jeff Goldblum in Jurassic Park said that.  Could not agree more with this.  The level of sophistication of the body can be truly mind-blowing.  I had some head issues going on that ultimately came down to sinus pressure that had built up but minus the actual sinus infection.  This lasted for 2 weeks and on Saturday became completely unbearable leading to a visit with physicians.  Things have finally begun to clear up.  But all of this is just background to that blog post title because I was failing to let my body find a way.  Here are the things I had to deal with that were creating issues.  Knee issue, shoulder issue, stress in regards to law school, stress from work/drive, diet that took in some problematic foods (due to lunches out at work), lack of vitamin d, and also a lack of proper sleep.  So much cortisol going on right there and my body could not deal with a normal bout of sinus pressure like it should have been able to.

The point of my saying all of this comes down to this: Take care of your body and it will take care of you.

So as you can see I felt I needed to take time off of the blog for a couple days because first the pain and second I needed a lot of sleep to let my body heal.  I also started reading the book Lights Out and its fabulous.  In today’s hyper active society that uses laptops, iPads, iPhones, televisions at all hours of the day really leads to a number of major issues because of the disruption to the body’s natural circadian rhythm.  

Enough of that time for a few links and then some food talk.  The amazing blog The Clothes Make the Girl does a great post on 10 Paleo Food Taste Boosters.  Great suggestions and a number that I already use and some that will be added.  So Peanut Butter and Jelly Pancakes? That site always makes me laugh and gives great ideas.  If you need an easy curry recipe go check out my sisters blog where she tells you what to do to make an amazing curry meal.

And finally go check out Civilized Caveman because well one of the pictures I am gonna put up tonight includes this recipe for brussels sprouts.  Seriously this dude helped me find a love for brussels sprouts.  Crazy stuff.

On to what I have been eating.  Well I have had grilled steak, tatuma squash, sweet potatoes (of course), asparagus, broccoli, kale, cauliflower, eggplant, ground lamb, ground beef, peppers, onions, catfish, red snapper, and probably more.  Basically I am gonna throw up a bunch of pictures and then depending on what it is describe it or not.  Thanks for sticking around and this blog will now be back on track.  

Image

Stew which included veal stew meat.  Amazing.  Stews are super easy and delicious.  Plus you can pack in a ton of nutrients by using bone broth plus throwing in tons of vegetables.  Do it.  Especially if you are lazy or pressed for time and want to make a bunch for multiple meals.

Image

That is the tatuma squash which was cooked in kerrygold garlic herb butter.  Freaking fantastic.  And I got the tatuma from my neighbor and have now convinced my mom to grow it as well.  Also that steak…ya I like it pretty rare.  Also I wanted that steak so much I was already eating it while I took the picture.

Image

Lamb with kale, peppers, and onions.  I forget how I seasoned this but needless to say I used something from Penzeys.

Image

The finished product.

Image

Grilled salmon, the tatuma squash, carrots (which I love), and finally a little bit of grilled pineapple.  First time I have ever had grilled pineapple and it turned out good but thats pretty easy because I could eat a ton of pineapple at any given time.  Such a great tasting fruit.

Finally here are the blueberry brussels sprouts based off the Civilized Caveman recipe.

Image

And the final product.

Image

So there you have it.  I obviously missed some meals (photo wise) during this time period.  But heres the thing.  Even when I felt awful I still put together a highly nutritious, great tasting meal that required very little time.  At my very worst on Saturday night I made steamed carrots with Beef and Broccoli using coconut aminos and some guac.  Easy but honestly one of my favorite meals.  My sister always gives me a hard time over this but I just can’t help how my taste buds feel about that creation.

Finally remember that life finds a way.  Whether that way is repairing the body through its proper functioning or forcing you to remember to back off sometimes.  A little pain can be alright just make sure to take care of it and not let that little pain become chronic pain or lead to other issues.  Also go read It Starts With Food.  Helps explain a lot of the science-y part in very easy to understand terms.  Do it and learn.  Then follow and make changes that you will wonder what took you so long.  And finally turn off the electronics and open up a book.  Let your body adjust to its natural desire to go to sleep and then sleep.  

And now I want to go watch Jurassic Park.  But that can wait until this weekend.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment