Keep it simple

I have to give the credit for this motto to my father.  He had this figured out very early on.  I do my best to follow this same motto because it works.  Its kinda like Occam’s Razor in that the simplest answer is often the correct answer.  I like this approach and have been getting some more of it in the current book I am reading ( Lights Out : Sleep, Sugar, and Survival ).  Its actually a very interesting read and worth your time but only after you read either It Starts With Food or The Paleo Solution.

Basic idea: Don’t overcomplicate things when it comes to your health and especially your cooking.  Nobody says your meals have to be super fancy and ornate.  Just find meals that taste good and that are full of nutrients.  Especially when things are busy during the work week just learn how to make a few meals really well and you will be set.  My sister just told me tonight how she found her go-to meal and its a red curry stir fry.  My go to meal is beef and broccoli in coconut aminos with some guac.  

Also tonight I made 2 catfish fillets in the skillet coated in a lemon garlic salt from Penzeys (called Trinidad).  This is another of my go-to meals because its super easy and taste really good.  I was talking today with a fellow crossfit guy who also happens to be a great chiropractor/ sports medicine doctor.  We got on the topic of eating the same thing over and over.  I told him that I certainly could and I would be happy but since there are so many meats, fish, vegetables, and ways to spice up the taste that I would rather make different things.  Also if you are in Houston and need some work done whether it be a knee, hip, shoulder, or just general back alignment stuff go check out Dr. Fernando.  Also he is legit at crossfit so that right there should get you to go at least talk with him.

So for some people eating the same 4-5 meals over and over might be perfect.  Some people need more variety.  The best thing to do would be to start with a few basic meals and then play off of those.  Try different meats and fish.  Try new vegetables.  But always have your go-to meals there acting as your safety blanket.  

Also I thought this might be useful for people who are willing to give this whole Paleo thing a shot for 30 days.  Both Robb Wolf and Whole30 are about 30 day programs to let your body reset and then you can go from there.  I personally have done a couple Whole30s and they are awesome.  In fact a good portion of the book It Starts With Food is devoted to Dallas and Melissa’s Whole30 program.  This blog post from them helps explain how you will probably feel during the different periods.

And now onto some pictures of food from the past couple meals.  

Image

Fired up the skillet threw in some grassfed butter.  Currently using Kerrygold but I also use Smjor.  Then tossed in a bunch of onions and some yellow peppers.  Let that cook for about 5 minutes on medium heat.  While cooking I cut a spaghetti squash in half and removed the seeds from one half.  Placed that half in the microwave for 8 minutes (saved the other half).  Next put in my ground pork.  I cooked a little over a pound of this pork so that I could use some of it for lunch today.  Then I put in some marinara sauce.  The marinara sauce I use is pretty mild in flavor because it doesn’t have all of the processed crap that normal sauces do.  I use the Mario Batali Pasta Sauce:  Plum Tomatoes, Onions, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Carrots, Garlic, Sea Salt, Parsley, and Thyme.  Then stir around and cook until meat is done.  Take out the spaghetti squash and let sit for about 2 minutes.  Then take your fork and start peeling it out.  When you are peeling it out you will realize why they call it a spaghetti squash.  Then add a few more spoonfuls of the marinara sauce to the “noodles” and add on the pork.  Very simple meal and a very nice flavor.  Its an easy way to recreate spaghetti except this won’t send your hormones into a destructive process and will also fuel your body.  

Also with this dinner I steamed some baby carrots and green beans.  I decided that by itself was kinda boring and I had half a can of coconut milk sitting in the fridge.  So I figured why not and just threw it all in a bowl.

Image

I thought this tasted really interesting and…and…really good.  But you should give a try and be the judge.  And like I have said before, buy a steamer.  I spent literally 30 seconds on those vegetables and then let them cook for about 20 minutes.  Keep it simple.

Finally tonight I was finally able to hit up CrossFit again.  3 days off made me more anxious then normal to get in and get after it.  Seriously Skyline Crossfit is amazing and they are actually moving this weekend to I-10 and Shepard.  You really should give them a chance.  Coaches are outstanding and the people in there make the place an absolute blast and a place where you will drastically improve your fitness and mental toughness.  So then I got home and made my dinner.  My go-to meal of catfish.  Then I also sautéed zucchini.  And last but not least I got my sweet potato on.  After 4 days of no sweet potato I was definitely ready for this.  

Image

Image

Nothing I made these past 2 days required any fancy kitchen equipment or tons of time or even imagination.  I like my go-to meals and then when I want to I experiment.  And a lot of times I know I like two things so I try them together.  Like those carrots, green beans, and coconut milk.  Don’t psyche yourself out by thinking you need to make things complex or tricky.  Sometimes that can be nice.  Like I really want to try to make some Paleo pancakes.  It will most likely be disastrous but hey I am gonna go for it one Saturday when I have some time to just relax and enjoy cooking.  And on that note I am going to keep it simple by reading some Lights Out and then taking that advice.  Health comes first even when I have tv shows I’d like to watch.  

Keep it simple.  Life is better that way.  

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Somehow coconut milk and those veggies don’t hit my fancy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

