Independence Day

Happy Independence Day.  First I want to truly thank all of those who have served in the military.  They are the reason we enjoy this great nation and why we have our freedom.  I also want to thank all of those who are currently serving.  They protect this nation and our freedom every single day.  America has been made great by all of those men and women who came before us.  I am so proud and lucky to be an American.  

Today has been pretty awesome as I finally had some time to get things taken care of.  I apologize for the lack of posts lately but I moved this past weekend back to Dallas and then started my job on Monday.  A ton of issues arose from the move.  Lets just say that both my stress and sleep suffered from some of the issues.  Issues dealt with and now back to the normal.

Because its July 4th I think you should go check this out on The Daily Beast where they list the top 13 most patriotic movies.  Today I have watched parts of Independence Day.  Its one of those movies that captures me every time and especially the President’s speech at the end.  I have also caught up on the first 2 episodes of The Newsroom and while I definitely can see some issues in the show, I enjoy anything by Aaron Sorkin and the level of dialogue inspires me to practice a higher form of rhetoric and vocabulary.  Sometimes I find myself getting lazy with my words.  I always have the goal in mind to learn something especially through reading but today I have learned via television.  The History Channel played marathons of The Presidents and The Revolution.  HBO played the miniseries John Adams.  All three provided a great insight into this country’s founding and the people behind the events.

And now I move on to the normal stuff this blog deals with.  Food.  Well actually before you we go there I think you should go check out this piece in the NY Times about The “Busy” Trap.  Absolutely fantastic and relevant.  Moving on to food I thought this piece the other day also in the NY Times about the whole false belief that a calorie is a calorie demonstrated a lot of the research and ideas I follow in my eating.  

I have linked to my sister’s blog a couple of times.  In particular I linked to her Red Curry Stir Fry recipe.  Tonight I used that red curry with my catfish.  I had to get a spoon just to make sure I did not miss any of the curry.  So easy and yet this meal goes to the top of my list in terms of taste.  Add this to beef and broccoli for a go-to easy meal.  

Image

Just so you know that is .70 of a lb of catfish.  I cooked this for roughly 8 minutes in the skillet on slightly less then medium heat.

Yesterday I decided I needed to make a pork loin roast that had been sitting in my freezer for a couple weeks.  So the night before I let it thaw out.  Steps that I took to prepare my pork roast.  Turn on crockpot.  Put roast in.  Two tablespoons of lime juice over roast.  Pour some water in the crockpot.  Cover the crockpot and let cook on low.  This cooked for roughly 8 hours.  After crossfit I had my dinner all set to go.  Now the reason I didn’t season this roast came down to one main thing…I knew I wanted guac that night.  I made some guac and mixed it all together.  The end result.

Image

I ate the whole roast.  Dominated that roast.  Pulled pork with guac added to the main meals.  With all of my meals I also eat vegetables even if I don’t always mention them.  Today I spent some time at Whole Foods and bought these vegetables: Green beans, artichoke, onions, peppers, asparagus, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, spinach, beets, and squash.  Tonight I had steamed carrots and sautéed squash.  

Saturday’s dinner turned out big for me.  Last week I bought beef liver from a local farmer and needed to eat the liver before I left.  I followed this simple recipe from The Clothes Make the Girl (author of Well Fed).  I enjoy trying new foods but I admit that liver scared me.  As it turned out I never needed the fear.  I really enjoyed my liver especially with the caramelized onions on top.  Definitely contains an interesting texture but nothing that bothered me.  The liver tasted awesome.  The beef liver with onions.

Image

Need a reason to give liver a shot?  Liver provides an almost unparalleled amount of nutrients that your body needs.  People throw around the term superfood far too often but in the case of liver no other word suffices in providing an accurate description.  Try to get liver in once a week.  But make sure if you get beef liver to find a grass-fed beef liver.  A huge difference exists.  Feel free to also go with chicken livers but still work to find pasture raised chickens.  Both the quality of the nutrients and the taste relies on how these animals lived.  One of the best things you can do to learn some about the food industry and why organic, pasture raised, and grass-fed make a difference comes down to spending about 2 hours watching the documentary Food, Inc.  Last I checked netflix carries this documentary.  Watch it.

I have been an eating machine lately as I try to put on a little weight.  The reason behind this attempt rest in my goals for crossfit.  The added weight can help me out with the heavier weights required these days in crossfit.  In my approach though I maintain a healthy paleo eating plan.  The changes in my diet include an increase in the amount of protein and fat I eat while keeping the carbs at the same level as before.  I will keep this blog updated on how this goes but I can say in about the past two weeks I have added four pounds and my strength increased as well.  

Finally I know this comes a day too late but with summer comes time outdoors and barbecues.  You can do these things and still eat well.  One of my favorite sites, Whole9, provides an awesome batch of July 4th barbecue recipes.  Don’t be afraid to lean on these people for help.  Follow them on Facebook or twitter.  A lot of these very smart nutrition people will answer and correspond with you.  The community wants to help people make changes and live a healthy life.  

So on this Independence Day find your independence from poor food choices.  Leave the fast food, processed foods, gluten, sugar, grains, legumes, and all of those inflammatory and hormone disruptive foods behind.  Then you can celebrate Independence Day in two ways.

God Bless America.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

