Happy…National Eat Your Vegetables Day.

First Happy Fathers day.  I am blessed to have an amazing father.  I could not be more proud to call him my dad and I would not be near the person I am today without him.  So thank you to my dad for being such an awesome role model and parent.

Second Happy national eat your vegetables day.  Not even joking.  So I hope you made sure to get your veggies on.  Heres my list for the day.  Onions, yellow pepper, banana pepper, spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, kale, carrots, and brussels sprouts.  Not a bad way to celebrate.  

The weekend turned out to be another amazing weekend.  I got plenty of sleep, got a lot of tissue work done, hit up crossfit on Saturday, had a big family get together celebrating my nephews 1st birthday and Fathers day all while soaking in some Vitamin D at my pool, went to church, stocked up at whole foods, and ate tons of great food.  Saturdays big dinner was filled with barbecue from my brother-in-law.  The world misses out on having him run his own barbecue restaurants because he does unbelievable barbecue.  I don’t eat his sauce but I am told but all those in my family including big barbecue lovers that his has no comparison.  As a result I ate about 3 lbs of brisket last night and a bunch of broccoli and cauliflower.  I kinda forgot to take pictures but here is some of it.  

Image

And then my sister made a Paleo friendly sauce.  Tangy not sweet.  But I really like tangy so it made the brisket that much better.  

Image

Last night I finally got into It Starts With Food which by the way provided the recipe for that barbecue sauce.  I still have a long ways to go with this book but the breakdown of 4 major hormones (insulin, leptin, glucagon, and cortisol) was outstanding.  One thing I have really enjoyed looks at what Dallas and Melissa call their Good Food Standards:

1. Promote a healthy psychological response

2. Promote a healthy hormonal response

3. Support a healthy gut

4. Support immune function and minimize inflammation

Perfect way to break things down.  The first one they actually break down why so many people have attachment issues to certain foods and just how the food industry is manipulating the natural human instincts to profit while the people suffer.  If you are one of those people who feels like they need that cake, pizza, or name your vice this chapter can go a long ways in helping you to both understand what is going on and also breaking the addiction.  I will get more into the others later but for now enough science-y talk.

Today I made some Mahi Mahi in the oven.  Baked it at 400 degrees for about 18 minutes.  Delicious.  Threw on some Bangkok seasoning (Penzeys) and to finish it off poured on some melted grassfed butter (currently I am using Kerrigold).  

Image

And then I heated up some leftover broccoli and cauliflower in coconut milk from the day before.  Turned into a very easy and nice meal.  I actually spent most of the time in the pool while the Mahi cooked.  Thats how easy cooking can be.

For dinner tonight I decided to make a beef curry.  Well buffalo actually but you get the idea.  To make this I first heated up the skillet and added my grassfed butter.  Then poured half a can of coconut milk into the pan and a bunch of hot curry powder (Penzeys).  Mixed that all together let it cook for about 3-4 minutes.  Then I added in the ground buffalo.  Added in about 2 tablespoons of my coconut aminos and stirred around.  Let that cook for about 4-5 minutes.  Meanwhile cut up the Kale and wash it.  Put the Kale in and let that cook until the meat was done.  Let it sit for about 5 minutes and scoop out and enjoy.

Image

Image

The finish product turned out so good that I didn’t even use guac.  I bought a ripe avocado with the plan to use it tonight.  That should tell you something.  

Image

I added to this meal with some steamed carrots and the lemon pepper brussels sprouts from Civilized Caveman Cooking.  Oh and on the carrots I put coconut butter on them.  Delicious.  Cant go wrong with coconut butter.  

Just to give you an idea of what I’ll be working through the next couple weeks here is my reading list.  It Starts With Food, Sweet Potato Power, Wheat Belly, The Vitamin D Solution, Lights Out, Primal Body Primal Mind, and Good Calories Bad Calories.  Look into these books and maybe get one that strikes you as important or something very practical for you.  If you aren’t sleeping like you should check out Lights Out.  If you love sweet potatoes, well you know where to go in that case.  Always be learning and never get complacent.  

I hope you had a wonderful Fathers Day and a wonderful weekend.  Time is a precious commodity so make sure to take advantage.  That means with your family, friends, and especially your very own health.  Maybe you forgot today was national eat your vegetables day.  Just make it up tomorrow and go big.  

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

