It Starts With Food

So excited today.  The book It Starts With Food by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig finally arrived.  I had this book pre-ordered for something like 2 months.  Needless to say I can’t wait to absorb all of their information.  I will be posting a review once I get through and get a chance to digest everything.  I did start reading and towards the very beginning of the book they throw out this amazing truth:

The food you eat either makes you more healthy or less healthy.  Those are your options.

That statement right there is huge.  They make the point that when it comes to food no Switzerland exists.  There are not foods that do nothing.  

Sorry about missing the post last night but I had a bunch of things come up.  So tonight I will give you a bit of a double helping of what I ate.  But before I do that just take a look at this picture of Maximus and Roxie.  Its really tough leaving these two in the morning when they act and look like this.

Image

I love my dogs.  They are playing right now.  Roxie is bigger and stronger.  Maximus is quick, agile, and determined.  Interesting battles ensue because of this.

On another note I will be trying to get through the Protein Debate as well this weekend.  This was a debate set up between the author of the Paleo Diet and the author of the China Study. Should be an interesting read.  Slightly old but it will still be a great and valuable resource.  

Also I have made it clear that I really enjoy the website PaleOMG and I thought I would share one of her breakfast recipes in case you needed some ideas.  These are what she calls a spinach sweet potato egg nest.  Best part is that it cooks a whole bunch so you can use throughout the week.  Its all about making life easy so you can make good decisions during the week.  I understand that time can often times cause problems when trying to eat properly.  If I didn’t do some prep work on the weekends and cook up for multiple meals it would be a struggle and I might make a poor choice.

The weekend has arrived.  Get outside tomorrow.  Play.  Get Sun.  Swim or Run.  Again I will encourage you to check out a free crossfit class.  Most crossfit boxes have a free class on Saturday for anybody that wants to come.  If you happen to be in Houston I highly suggest you check out my box which is Skyline Crossfit.  The free class is at 1 pm.  Check out their website for directions or information here.  Maybe afternoon doesn’t work for you.  Again if you are in Houston looking for a morning workout I would check out Cosmic Crossfit near Pearland.  This is where my awesome sister goes and its actually the place I first tried crossfit.  If they were nearer to me I would definitely go there.  They have classes at 8 and 9 am.  Also if you did not know the photo of me on this blog includes my sister, Amanda.  

Now time for some food stuff.  Last night I got the wonderful gift of my mother grilling steak and asparagus.  Freaking fantastic.  Asparagus on the grill turns out amazing.  Give it a try.  And I mean steak on the grill cooked medium rare…doesn’t get any better then that.

Image

Of course I ate the steak with guac.  And a few onions.  I am a huge onion guy.  Adds a great flavor all the time.  Oh also for lunch I finished off my stew.  That worked out great and I can’t wait to make some more. You have seen the stew though so I didn’t take a picture.  Needless to say I got a ton of vegetables from it, some great beef with a real nice flavor, and finally some bone broth.  

On to todays food.  I did the normal thing for breakfast.  I ate it without guac today though because while I made breakfast I also cooked my lunch.  I made a standard beef and broccoli in Arizona Dreaming seasoning (Penzeys of course) and 2 teaspoons of coconut aminos.  Its great getting to eat my own food at work.  I just feel better and my body thanks me.  And then I did this crazy thing for lunch in addition to the beef and broccoli.  I ate sardines.  See I keep reading and hearing about them from a lot of people I really respect including both Balanced Bites and Cave Girl Eats.  They are a great source of real omega 3s which are hugely important in that they are anti-inflammatory and help balance out the completely jacked up omega 3: omega 6 ratio most people suffer in modern society.  I bought a boneless and skinless pack of sardines in olive oil and went for it.  I dreaded eating these.  Turned out I really liked them.  Super super easy and it was 28 g protein and 12 g of fat.  I love that right there.  Just a perfect travel meal or addition to some other meal.  Give it a try and be brave.  

For dinner tonight I made Dover Sole (fish) in my skillet.  Cooked in butter and seasoned with Fox Point (Penzeys of course).  Then I had some sweet potato that I boiled.  Added cinnamon and coconut butter of course.  Finally I baked an eggplant for 45 minutes at 500 degrees.  Scooped it out and used it to dip my cauliflower into.  This was delicious.  Gave a little bit of a smoky flavor to the cauliflower.  So easy and something I will be doing a lot more of in the future.  Here are the pictures.

Image

Image

And yes in the background of that picture is the book Sweet Potato Power.  It just arrived with It Starts With Food.  You know my love of sweet potatoes so the fact that I am waiting to read a book on Sweet Potatoes because of It Starts With Food should tell you exactly how excited I am to read ISWF.  But seriously a book on sweet potatoes has to be amazing and the reviews have been tremendous.  Plus I have another 5 books that are arriving on Monday dealing with various issues like gluten, wheat, sleep, vitamin d, calories, and all kinds of awesome stuff.  

Finally heres the picture of the cauliflower and eggplant.  Like I said this turned out amazing and once I get my food processor back I can turn the eggplant into a real baba ghanoush.  

Image

So there you have it.  Life is good tonight.  Ive got my dogs, a full stomach, a great workout, and about to hit the bed with ISWF for some reading before I get my sleep.  Its really important to wind down before going to bed and do away with any light and electronic stimulation because it throws off your bodies natural process of switching its serotonin to melatonin.  Let your body work for you and get keep the lights low, turn off the television, turn off the laptop (after you finish this post), grab a book and then get some sleep.  Shoot for 9 hours but during the summer you can actually get away with 7.  

Heres hoping for 9 hours tonight.  And remember that it really does all start with food.  

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Glad you realize how awesome your sister is 🙂

    Reply
  2. Just want to thank you so much for all the research you do, it is a great help to me! I really enjoy reading your blog….and yours to Amanda!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

