Hungry? Why Wait?

Great slogan, terrible product.  So it stormed here today (Roxie doesn’t like storms so she hid) and I have to say my office offered quite the view.  I forgot to take a picture but I will the next time.  One of my favorite things to do is sleep during thunderstorms.  For reasons unknown to me I find this to be very relaxing.  Unfortunately I could not take a nice nap during the storm today at work.  The storm also coincided with a couple different articles I read today discussing the upcoming storm in terms of obesity.  Obesity ties into so many issues facing this country today and any change will help.  Enough of that stuff for now.

Yesterday I talked a little about cortisol.  Today’s hormone of the day is Leptin.  Leptin controls your hunger.  When your Leptin sensitivity begins to fail your body fails to understand when its no longer hungry.  Go check out the whole article but here is one of the paragraphs I found helpful:

Leptin is arguably the most important of the Master Control Hormones.  Recently there has been some discussion about “leptin resistance.”  Leptin receptors become “fatigued” and “worn out” from all the garbage like high fructose and overly processed ingredients of modern diets.  You may hear people say “I’m always hungry,” which is a result of the brain no longer picking up the signal from leptin that you are satiated.

Oh and a Snickers bar falls into that category of things that fatigue and wear out your leptin receptors.  Make smart choices and your body really will thank you and perform for you.  Also over on PaleOMG the recipe for Grilled Pineapple Burgers with spicy avocado cream looks freaking amazing and I am hoping to give this a shot on Sunday for Fathers’ day.

On to my meals for the day.  Nothing special for breakfast.  Well unless your like me and consider the egg scramble to be special.  This seriously never disappoints me.

For lunch I just went across the street to a food court in one of the massive office buildings.  But heres the awesome thing.  They had a place like My Fit Foods except this place offered Paleo meals.  So I got an Argentinian Chicken with some green beans and yellow squash.  It tasted pretty good and they used ingredients that I would use.  This included a quality meat source.

Then I hit up Skyline Crossfit which makes everything awesome.  Getting in there and doing work really can turn my day around after sitting at work all day.  I do try to walk as much as possible during the day at work but those opportunities can only be taken so often.  Anyways today turned into a good Crossfit day in that I finally learned how to kip my toes to bar and put them together.  Anyways this meant I was gonna make a bunch of food because its stupid hot and humid here so I am unbelievably hungry after these workouts.  So heres a list then I will throw up some pictures.

2 pork chops seasoned with Southwest from Penzey’s and cooked in butter.  Broccoli and Cauliflower with salt and pepper baked in coconut milk.  Baba Ghanoush (eggplant) from Well Fed.  I don’t use recipes often but I did use this one because I love baba ghanoush but had no idea how to make this.  Turned out really well (I used slightly too much garlic but I will play around with my exact recipe now).  And finally I had a baked sweet potato with cinnamon, butter, and coconut butter.  And now I am eating Sauerkraut and drinking bone broth.  On to the pictures.

Then I mashed it all together with some garlic, lemon juice, chili powder, cumin, and salt.  After that I drizzled on some olive oil.

And then finally the broccoli and cauliflower.  Quick piece of advice to make life easy.  Cut up the Broccoli and Cauliflower into the florets all at once.  This would be a great thing to do on Sunday.  Put them all in a bag and take out as much as you need throughout the week.

So there you go.  When your hormones are in proper balance you will have no problem eating the right amount.  I never eat to the point where I feel like I  over ate.  I also never get that hunger after just 2 hours or so like so many people.  My typical eating schedule looks like this.  Breakfast at 7.  Lunch between 12-1.  Dinner between 7:30-9.  Its easy because it works so well.  Treat your body right and it will return the favor.

Make one small change tomorrow to live a healthier lifestyle.  You do not need to go zero to sixty.  Just make small changes and it will snowball.  Find somebody to keep you accountable and do the same thing for them.  I have my sister who helps me tremendously and especially at the beginning.  You should check out her blog from time to time as well.  Just look at this awesome list of food she’s gonna be eating this week.

And this is what I have looking at me as I finish this post.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

