Early to bed. Early to Rise.

Makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.  Ben Franklin used that saying.  Today reminded me of the truth of the statement.  An article I came across on yahoo today looked at healthy individuals in terms of body weight and yet when they failed to get more than 6 hours of sleep the risk of stroke skyrocketed.  A lot of people neglect sleep but the importance of sleep cannot be overstated.  Even when you eat right and exercise the amount and quality of sleep directly impacts your hormones and especially cortisol.  Cortisol creates a ton of issues and one of the most obvious is the accumulation of fat around the midsection.  I just ordered the book Lights Out as recommended by Robb Wolf and I can’t wait to get a chance to read it.

But its gonna have to wait because tomorrow is the release date of It Starts With Food.  This is the book by Dallas and Melissa from Whole9life.  As soon as I get my hands on it I will be devouring all of its information and then passing on some of its wisdom in this blog.  Time to discuss my daily eats.

Today I went pretty standard set of meals for me.  I made my breakfast scramble.  Nothing too exciting on that front.  I just love that meal and it really starts my day off right.  

Image

For lunch I took my own to the office today which was the leftovers from last night.  I also fried 2 eggs this morning and threw those in as well.  Took in some guac and there you go.  Another easy delicious meal.  

Finally for dinner I had my stew.  Directions for this:  Cut up onions, zucchini, tomatoes, kale, brussels sprouts, and carrots.  Get out stew meat.  Get out the bone broth.  Turn on the crockpot and pour in some of the bone broth.  Then add in all of the veggies.  Finally add in the stew meat plus a little more bone broth.  Either cook it on high for 4-5 hours (until the meat is tender) or on low for 8 ish hours.  Then you can eat it that day or put it in the fridge and eat it later.  I put it in the fridge and had it tonight after crossfit.  Definitely made life easy.

Image

And of course my sweet potato.  Just a piece of advice on the sweet potato front.  I am working to fuel my performance and am not concerned with being super super lean.  If you are trying to get or stay super super lean then use a smaller sweet potato post workout or not at all.  Your body can go to its fat stores but there will be a period of time where performance will dip as your body adjust.  But I love my sweet potato and see no reason to try to maintain sub 6% body fat.  If you want sub 6% then go for it.  Or if you are needed to drop some serious weight then perhaps you should limit the sweet potatoes.  Just be smart and see what feels right for you.

Image

So now make sure to get some high quality and plenty of sleep.  Your body will thank you.  

Also think Vitamin D doesn’t matter?  Or that sun exposure is dangerous?  Take a look at this graphic.

Get outside, Get sleep, Get healthy.

Image

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Weekly Meal Plan « Might As Well Dance

Leave a Reply

