A day filled with fish

I am starting this post with this picture of my dogs that made me so happy to take.  The white one is my dog, Roxie, and the gold one is my family’s dog, Maximus (yes I named him for Maximus Decimus Meridius, Commander of the Armies of the North…ok I won’t do the whole thing).

Image

So much fish in my life today.  I love fish.  Being in Maui and eating fresh caught fish every night for dinner drove this point home.  It also showed me how changes in seasonings and marinades can make the fish taste drastically different and entirely unique.  

Today was kind of a big day for me in that I was able to get most of family to take fish oil.  They do not eat well no matter how much I try to convince them.  They have made some changes but still consume a lot of gluten, vegetable oils, sugar, and many other inflammatory and problematic foods.  But they finally gave in to at least taking some Omega 3’s.  The benefits of Omega 3’s are far too numerous for me to list.  However one telling statistic looks at the ratio between the Omega 3 and Omega 6 fats.  The ideal ratio is 1:1 but most people would be happy if we got a ratio close to 1:5.  Our society today possesses a ratio between 1:20 – 1:50.  This leads to terrible inflammation in the body which leads to virtually every health problem that can be named.

Sorry for going scienc-y.  Thats over for now but you can do more research on that if you like.  Tonight I made Red Snapper for the first time.  Really had no idea if this would turn out well.  As I have said sometimes just have to go for it and see how things turn out.  So on that note I fired up the skillet and threw in some grass fed butter.  Then the Red Snapper went in and I seasoned it again with one of my Penzey’s spices that I bought the other day.  In this case the spice is called Chesapeake Bay.  I used to peel of the skin (weak I know) but after reading some recent articles on Marks Daily Apple I started eating the skin of my fish.  Cooked for around 10 minutes.  Looked like this:

Image

This turned out absolutely awesome.  Quite possibly my favorite fish that I have made in some time.  Also sad news in that I took off from crossfit today because I needed to stock up at Whole Foods today after work.  That meant no sweet potato and no guac at dinner.  Good thing the snapper turned out amazing and I have a new way I love preparing my vegetables as well.

Cut up some broccoli and cauliflower into florets.  Throw into a glass pyrex dish.  Add a little bit of salt and some pepper.  Then poor half a can of coconut milk over them.  Cover this with aluminum foil and put in the oven at 425 for 25 minutes.  Unbelievable.  

Image

So another pretty simple dinner but one that tasted great.  The final plate of veggies also included some steamed carrots.  A nice giant plate of veggies always makes me happy.  It also blows the mind of most people who see me eat it which I enjoy because then I get to talk about how eating right means you can eat until you are full and not worry about fat gain.  Plus my food taste better then the junk out there.  The final plate looked like this.

Image

Finally I would like to take this time to say I am going to try Sauerkraut tomorrow.  I love me my Kombucha but I think its time to step up and give the more potent stuff a try.  I got inspired by the post from Balanced Bites on 10 ways to be healthy.  Go read that post and then shoot to get at least one.  Then add in more and more.  Your body really will thank you.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

